Books

Top Five Tuesday

Happy Tuesday!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s TTT is a Summer Reads Freebie.

May 23: Summer Reads Freebie: In preparation for Memorial Day (which is always the unofficial summer kickoff for me), let’s rec some summer/beach reads: books to go in your beach bag, best books set in summer, books with summer-y covers, best beach reads for people who don’t enjoy contemporary/realistic reads, best beach reads for fans of X genre, etc. etc.

Confession – I am not big on summer/beach reads. Why? Well, as a reader I tend to lean towards the fantasy genre, as opposed to contemporary reads. I like fiction that allows me an escape from reality and for me, a snowy winter is far more exotic than a sunny beach (I live in Australia!).

That being said I have read some great books that take place in summer so I have included my top five here:

My Life Next Door

12294652

This is my favourite Americana/summer read. It is so sweet and captures what I imagine it would be like to live in a small, beachy American town.

Hot Milk

9780241146552

This book was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and is one of the most accessible pieces of literary fiction I have read. The summer is an ever present, sometimes smothering force and the symbology of the ocean and sea creatures (re: Medusa jellyfish) is well used.

Blueback

9780143202837

A sweet story with a strong ecological message. Not all of this book was set in summer, but most of this story takes place near or in the sea.

Bright Young Things

7719248

The events of this book are described as taking place over “one hot summer” so I thought I should include it. The writing is addictive and full of roaring twenties glamour.

What I Thought Was True

15832932

I haven’t actually read this one, but I love Huntley Fitzpatrick’s writing style so I am looking forward to trying it. It is set in summer and looks like a sweet, beachy read.

What are your favourite summer reads?

Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Top Five Tuesday

  1. I have a friend in New Zealand and she was complaining about how chilly it was the other day and I’m here in the desert southwest of the US and am sweltering. I thought it was kind of amusing. If you haven’t read it, try Terry Brooks’ Magic Kingdom for Sale. It’s both fantasy and light-hearted.

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

