Book Reviews · books · young adult fiction

WWW Wednesday/ Feb 2017

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Here is my slightly early WWW Wednesday. I should mention that the month of January was an intense month, full of a number of personal and professional challenges. Hence why I have not posted very much.

Chief amongst these events was the passing of my Grandmother, who is finally at peace after being unwell for so many years. She had a profound inner strength, forged from an eventful life that was hard at times. She loved her family and I miss her dearly.

The first few weeks of February were spent trying to get back into reading. I started tentatively with some fairy floss YA (The Jewel) and am now attempting to get through some classic lit (20,000 Leagues Under the Sea). I am hoping this post will help me get back on track.

WWW Wednesday was created by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. It is one of my favourite lists to do.

All you have to do is answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

20000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne

f0747110722aea620b6b3a5d1a07eff0

I am seventeen pages into this book and while the language is beautiful it is somewhat difficult to understand. Verne was a French writer and the political messages within the novel were toned down at the time to erase anti-British sentiment – how I wish I could read the first draft! I love classic novels about the sea and am hoping to seek out Moby Dick at my local library sometime this year.

What did you recently finish reading?

The Jewel (The Lone City, #1) by Amy Ewing

16068780

This is escapist, romantic dystopian YA fiction it’s cheesiest. Wonderfully predictable and suitably dramatic, it was a good, fun read. Taken from her family at a young age, Violet has been trained to be a surrogate for a wealthy family. Despite their astounding magical abilities, the surrogates are treated worse than animals by their wealthy owners. As Violet discovers the disturbing nature of the ultra-wealthy she decides to rebel and fight for a better world.

What do you think you will read next?

What I thought was true by Huntley Fitzpatrick

15832932

I enjoyed Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door (review here). I love the detail Fitzpatrick puts into her characters and how she portrays American culture.

OR

Silas Marner by George Eliot

81wc5qmbgtl

Another classic I would love to read.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

-Sam 🙂

One thought on “WWW Wednesday/ Feb 2017

Leave a Reply

