Book Reviews · book tbr · young adult

WWW Wednesday

Greetings!

First of all I would like to apologize, the realities of life made it really difficult to post in December. But I do enjoy being a part of this community and definitely felt the absence of bookish friends this past month. I will try to post more often in 2017!

I know that today is not Wednesday, but I was flat out with work until very recently so I hope you accept this very late (or early?) WWW Wednesday post.

WWW Wednesday was created by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

All you have to do is answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

The Birdman’s Wife by Melissa Ashley

birdmans-wife-9781925344998_hr

This novel tells the story of Elizabeth Gould, wife to John Gould the famous English ornithologist. A woman largely forgot by history, Elizabeth lead an extraordinary life as an illustrator for her husband, mother to his children and fellow adventurer to foreign lands.

A hectic work and home schedule has meant that I have been reading this book in small snippets, often at the end of the day and usually falling asleep while I do so. I am really looking forward to read for longer and become immersed in the story. This book comes well recommended and historical fiction is probably my favourite genre.

The Story of Australia’s People Volume 1: The Rise and Fall of Ancient Australia by Geoffrey Blainey

the-story-of-australia-s-people

The Story of Australia’s People is a new book by one of Australia’s most notable historians. Geoffrey Blainey is an author not afraid to revise his opinions as per new research and this is largely why he wrote this book.  I am currently sixty pages in and I’m finding it engaging, despite the extensive period covered. It is wonderful that we can learn so much about history in a way that is entertaining and accessible. My only worry is that I won’t be able to finish this book before it due back at the library.

What did you recently finish reading?

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

9781439149829_p0_v5_s1200x630

Brooklyn was a bit of a mix for me, on the one hand I thought it was beautifully written with an authentic historical voice. The details of day-to-day life in 1950s Brooklyn were so thorough I initially thought the book was written during the time (it wasn’t). On the other hand, I found the main character Eilis to be weak-willed and the book’s ending abrupt and unsatisfying. Toibin attempts to wrap things up very quickly, sending his main character off to a life (and a man) I thought was wrong for her. At least now I have an answer for those book lists that ask for a couple you don’t think should have ended up together!

 What do you think you will read next?

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff

Gemina is the sequel to popular YA sci-fi novel Illuminae. This book shifts the perspective to two new characters, Hanna and Nik, continuing to show us the aftermath of the BeiTech assault through emails, reports and transcripts. This format worked really well for Kaufman and Kristoff in the first book and I have heard nothing but good things about Gemina so I can’t wait to get started!

Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

Happy New Year!

Sam 🙂

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like Brooklyn. It was one I really enjoyed and I thought Eilis could be happy with either of the two guys but she had to decide between the lifestyle that came with each one and she chose America. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a really interesting way of looking at. I had not considered that it might be more about the country/lifestyle than the guys. I just felt that there wasn’t as much chemistry with Tony and it seemed like she was reluctant to marry him/have sex with him. Their sex scene did make me a little uncomfortable because it seemed like she didn’t really enjoy it. Was that just me?

      Whereas with Jim there was a bit more passion. It seems like it was wrapped up too quickly and I would have liked more of an insight into Eilis’ reasoning.
      Despite this I did actually did enjoy the book, it is so wonderfully written and really did speak to me as a descendant of Irish migrants (to Australia as opposed to America).

      Like

      1. I felt the same about the sex scene with Tony, but I attributed it to her first time, not as much to Tony or their relationship. I felt the relationship with Jim was pushed too much by her mother and I wondered how much of their passion was Eilis feeling pressure from family and friends versus her own feelings. I felt it was really well written as well and It made me interested in reading more of Toibin’s work. Happy reading!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

