Books · Wrap-ups

August Wrap Up

This will be my first ever monthly wrap-up and I’m amazed that with all that is going on at the moment I managed to read six books! I guess being able to take a break from the craziness and read helped me stay sane.

This month I read:

  1. Black Rock White City 4/5. A complex and beautifully written novel about two Serbian refugees living in Australia. I was so glad when I heard that A.S. Patric won the Miles Franklin Award for this book. Read my thoughts here.
  2. Dorothy Must Die 3/5. A dark take on the world of The Wizard of Oz, this novel tells the story of Amy Gumm and her quest to save Oz from the malevolent Dorothy Gale. Review here.
  3. Disruption 3/5. An entertaining, dystopian YA read with a strong heroine and gripping romance. In the world of Disruption human beings are implanted with chips that allow governments an unprecedented amount of information. Maggie Stevens is determined to find her father after he is abducted for being a ‘neg’ (someone anti-social and potentially dangerous).
  4. The Glittering Court 2/5. A dystopian YA novel that had its high points, but on the whole was disappointing. Review here.
  5. Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms 4/5. I was looking forward to this novel by Indigenous Australian writer Anita Heiss and it did not disappoint. The romance between Japanese POW (prisoner of war) Hiroshi and Indigenous teenager Mary was tentative and bittersweet. I enjoy reading about history from perspectives not usually explored and I found the depictions of Indigenous mission life eye-opening and informative. I also got a comment from the author on Instagram, which is always pretty cool!anita heiss.png
  6. Crown of Midnight 4/5. This was the third time I tried to get through Crown of Midnight and I finally managed it. I found the first half a little slow, but was gripped from the halfway point. This series is entertaining, young adult fantasy with good romantic tension and strong world-building.

This month I watched:

Apart from lots of Peppa Pig, Giggle and Hoot and Ben and Holly’s Little Kingdom (sigh…) I did have manage to watch X-men First Class with my husband, which I enjoyed a lot more than the original X-men trilogy.

xmen1

Life this month:

  • Being hired and fired (boo!) after my employer decided they wanted a full-timer (I am a mum to a ten month old so I am after part-time work).
  • Jumping through a million bureaucratic hoops before hopefully being able to move into our new home next month.
  • Packing and preparing to move house.
  • Taking care of my baby through reflux, conjunctivitis, a head cold and teething – two teeth in two days!
  • … and a little bit of blogging.

Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

    1. Thanks! 🙂
      I know some bloggers read 10+ per month and I’m in awe when I see their wrap-ups. I wish I could read more, but then I don’t think I could get anything done. Good luck with uni, what are you studying?

      Like

    1. Thanks, it feels like much more time has past, I can’t believe it’s only been a month. I sometimes feel sad about the job, but I know it was for the best, as I have a lot more time to prep for the move.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a beautiful story, I really enjoyed it. Heiss is an Indigenous rights activist here in Australia and you can feel the love she has for her people in her writing, as well as her sadness/frustration for all they have gone through.
      I learned a lot about Indigenous life in WW2 and I would really reccomend it if you are interested in a side of Australian history rarely touched upon.
      I’m not sure if it’s being realeased in the US, but you should be able to get the kindle version.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

