Book Lists

WWW Wednesday

Happy Wednesday!

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words, it’s quick and I enjoy participating (usually every second Wednesday) because it allows me to connect with other bookish bloggers and see what everyone is reading.

All you have to do is answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Corruption by Jessica Shirvington

corruption_final31

This is the second book in the Disruption duology and the end of Maggie and Quentin’s story. I’ve found Disruption to be an entertaining dystopian series, with a strong, kick-ass female lead and a great romance (no love triangle!) I’m really glad the publishers didn’t drag this story out into three books, because the pace and tone would just not be the same. I will try and get a review of the series out once I finish Corruption.

Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms by Anita Heiss

barbed-wire-and-cherry-blossoms-9781925184846_hr

I love reading Australian literature and when I heard one of my favourite social commentators and Indigenous rights activists was publishing a new book, you can imagine how keen I was to check it out.

While I am thankful I live in one of the most prosperous countries in the world, Australia does a have problem with racial inequality. On average Indigenous Australians have shorter life spans, poorer educational outcomes and higher rates of incarceration. Inter-generational trauma, a lack of cultural awareness and rampant discrimination contribute to these poor outcomes for Aboriginal people. As such, the Indigenous perspective is seldom explored in our literature, even less so by Indigenous writers. This perspective is unique, informative and cannot be adequately portrayed by non-Indigenous writers. Hence why I was so excited when Anita published this book!

Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms deals with two perspectives rarely considered in western history; a Japanese prisoner of war in World War Two and a young Indigenous woman living on an Aboriginal mission. I am excited to read their story and watch their unlikely romance unfold.

More info on Aboriginal missions here.

What did you recently finish reading?

Disruption by Jessica Shirvington

27191194

This is the first book in the Disruption duology. I am reading the second book at the moment, hoping to write a review on the series once I’m finished.

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

the-glittering-court-richelle-mead-e1457133253986

This book has some good moments and interesting plot twists, but was disappointing overall. See my review here.

 What do you think you will read next?

Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal by Mary Roach

gulp-cover-350

This is the current book for my book club (we are doing non-fiction this month) so I’m looking forward to checking it out.

Thank you for reading this post, feel free to post a link to your WWW Wednesday in the comments and I will check it out.

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

    1. Hi Catherine, I’m having trouble commenting on your post, it’s probably just the interface of my phone.

      I just wanted to say that I love a good mystery and will be checking out the Crooked House on goodreads! It looks really interesting ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

