book bloggers · books

WWW Wednesday

Hello!

This will be a short WWW Wednesday, as I have been sick for most of the day (not a great Wednesday!)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words, it’s easy and fun to participate. All you have to do is answer three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I am about 80% through this book and I am enjoying it so far. The beginning was a little disjointed, but it picks up from the halfway point. Paige transforms beloved characters like the Scarecrow, Cowardly Lion and the Tin Man into freakishly despicably killers. Dorothy is perhaps one of the worst villains in YA fiction! I love how Paige has turned the Oz mythology on its head.

18053060

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas. I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I’ve been trained to fight. And I have a mission.

What did you recently finish reading?

Black Rock White City by A.S Patric

This wasn’t the easiest book to read, the language is complicated and allegorical, with constant flashbacks that left me a little disorientated.

Jovan and Suzanna are Serbian refugees living in Melbourne, working menial jobs despite their considerable academic prowess. This is a situation all too common in western countries. Patric does an excellent job highlighting the casual racism ever present towards refugees as he opens the door into an aspect of Australian society rarely explored.

Jovan’s journey provoked a roller-coaster of emotions within me as I bore witness to an extraordinary mind caged in an ordinary life. His displacement and heartache hit me full force by the end of the novel. The book closes on an emotionally bittersweet note, as Jovan’s journey comes full circle.

His wife Suzanna is a literary masterpiece and one of the strongest, most authentic women in fiction.Her quiet dignity and power, coupled an intense vulnerability made me eager to learn more about her life.

24887441

Black Rock White City is a novel about the damages of war, the limits of choice, and the hope of love.

During a hot Melbourne summer Jovan’s cleaning work at a bayside hospital is disrupted by acts of graffiti and violence becoming increasingly malevolent. For Jovan the mysterious words that must be cleaned away dislodge the poetry of the past. He and his wife Suzana were forced to flee Sarajevo and the death of their children.

Intensely human, yet majestic in its moral vision, Black Rock White City is an essential story of Australia’s suburbs now, of displacement and immediate threat, and the unexpected responses of two refugees as they try to reclaim their dreams. It is a breathtaking roar of energy that explores the immigrant experience with ferocity, beauty and humour.

What do you think you will read next?

I’m not completely sure, but perhaps…

17167166

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached. It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Thank you for reading this post, feel free to post a link to your WWW Wednesday in the comments and I will check it out:)

17 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

    1. They do! Throne of Glass is a great read (the first Sarah J. Maas book). It’s probably the best YA fantasy book I have read in the last few years.
      I found Dorothy Must Die a bit off in the beginning, but it grew on me 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying Dorothy Must Die. I’ve heard mixed reviews so it’s good to hear some positive press. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good (entertaining but not perfect) I bought it on a whim because they didn’t have it at my library. I needed something fun after Black Rock White City 🙂

      Like

    1. It is really good, hard to read but worth it. It’s been nominated for the Miles Franklin Award here in Australia. I recommend it if you are interested in the experience of refugees, Australian life or mysteries in general!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve actually lost interest while reading it before, but I hear the next few books are really good, so I’m going to try and power through it.

      Like

  2. Crown Of Midnight is so much better than the first book! I hope you will enjoy it. And I liked Dorothy Must Die, although I didn’t ‘love’ it for various reasons. The books are a lot better than the novellas though. 😉

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

