Real Life · Writing

Update #1 – Long time no see!

Hi everyone,

Apologies for being absent this past month, I have been working non-stop on a project that is now finished.

A few days ago I submitted my entry for the Kill Your Darlings 2016 S.D. Harvey Short Story Award. The genre is crime fiction and it is run by the Australian Crime Writer’s Association and the Kill Your Darlings journal. It was wonderful to put together a story and it has really rekindled my love of writing.

Now that it is finished I am excited to get back into reading and WordPress! I am really looking forward to seeing what everyone is up to and what they are reading.

Kill Your Darlings screenshot.png

 

Yay!

I am about to pick up Uprooted from my local library ๐Ÿ™‚

22544764

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knowsโ€”everyone knowsโ€”that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isnโ€™t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

 

All the best,

Sam

 

9 thoughts on “Update #1 – Long time no see!

      1. I’m liking it so far, although the style is not what I expected. I love the descriptive imagery and the dark fairytale tone it has. I did find a few parts a bit dry, but overall I’m impressed – about 3/4 through.

        Like

Leave a Reply

