book tags

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Hello all!

I was tagged by Ashley over at ‘What’s She Reading’ to do this list. It should be a fairly short one, as I’m at the mercy of a 4 month old.

Let’s see if I can finish it before the baby wakes up?

(Not a chance, it took me three days…)

 1. A popular book or series you didn’t like.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

I know a lot people love this book, but I just found it to be incredibly pretentious and undeveloped. Who knows, maybe I will read it again one day and change my mind!

5194yo0pydl

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

Within these nocturnal black-and-white striped tents awaits an utterly unique, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air.

Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves.

Beyond the smoke and mirrors, however, a fierce competition is under way–a contest between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood to compete in a “game” to which they have been irrevocably bound by their mercurial masters. Unbeknownst to the players, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will.

2. A popular book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

Remembering Babylon by David Malouf.

I wasn’t really sure about this one so I looked on Goodreads for books that I loved but that had a low average rating. My highest rated book that others rated poorly was Remembering Babylon. I can understand this, as Malouf is an unconventional writer and not to everyone’s taste. This novel also presents early Australian settlers in a way that may upset traditionalists.

remembering1

In this rich and compelling novel, written in language of astonishing poise and resonance, one of Australia’s greatest living writers gives and immensely powerful vision of human differences and eternal divisions.  In the mid-1840s a thirteen-year-old British cabin boy, Gemmy Fairley, is cast ashore in the far north of Australia and taken in by aborigines. Sixteen years later he moves back into the world of Europeans, among hopeful yet terrified settlers who are staking out their small patch of home in an alien place. To them, Gemmy stands as a different kind of challenge: he is a force that at once fascinates and repels. His own identity in this new world is as unsettling to him as the knowledge he brings to others of the savage, the aboriginal.

 

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I don’t really have an answer for this one, maybe Celaena and Dorian? The prince and the assassin – that was never going to work. Bear in mind I haven’t read beyond the beginning of Crown of Midnight.

throne_of_glass_uk

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

Romance.

I like my stories with a romance included, but I don’t enjoy books where the romance is the central element of the plot. The exception to that rule are books by Rainbow Rowell, because she is an amazing writer.

15745753fangirl-cover

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

My answer: Ron Weasley.

Well, sort of. This was a hard question. I like Ron sometimes, but on the whole I find him a bit annoying and insecure.

tumblr_lpa195hnk71qcbssa

My husband’s answer: Harry Potter

In his words: Harry constantly whines about his life, all while his friends and family die for him.

(We are not in complete agreement about this, although I do think Harry is almost insufferable in parts of Order of the Phoenix).

enhanced-9855-1438191085-1

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Cassandra Clare.

I know a lot of people love the mortal instruments series and I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t get into it. I read City of Bones and the writing style just didn’t engage me.

I’ve read reviews criticizing her work for using elements of Harry Potter and I think I agree with their concerns (Malfoy = Jace, Ginny = Clary, Harry/Ron = Simon, Lucius/Voldemort = Valentine).There is a great article about that here. The article also references dialogue and plot-lines that Clare stole from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Blackadder.

cassandra-clare-covers

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

The bad boy that curbs his wicked ways for the protagonist. You can’t change him, don’t waste your time trying.

jane-eyre

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Legend Series by Marie Lu.

I’m not sure exactly why, but this series just doesn’t appeal to me. Maybe I’m getting tired of Dystopian fiction? Is this a good series?

marie-lu3

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham.

The movie was was beautifully directed, with a great cast and a gripping soundtrack. Kate Winslet, Judy Davis and Liam Hemsworth excelled in their respective roles. In contrast the book was awkward in places and hard to follow at times. Additionally, the main character is not given nearly enough focus and development in the book.

a847256

Thanks for reading 🙂

I tag anyone who is interested!

7 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

    1. Maybe I’ll see if I can read the first few chapters at my library ☺
      I had a similar issue with Fangirl (I was wary because of the hype), but I ended up loving it.

      Like

  1. Great post! 😀 I’m the same with romance books – I don’t mind when a book has romance in it, but I don’t like when it’s the main plot. That’s also the reason I don’t tend to read many contemporary. I also don’t like Ron Weasley as much as other people seem to. I do like him at some points, but he definitely isn’t my favourite character.

    Like

  2. I completely agree with your opinion on the Night Circus! I was so excited to start reading it and it ended up becoming one of the only books I’ve ever given up on. I honestly just found it boring!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

